Cheap cars, whats the scam here??? [Archive] - Used Car Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Cheap cars, whats the scam here???



Alser
12-02-2006, 09:09 PM
Hi,

I've been looking at some of the cars on this website, namely Audi's, VW's etc and there are some very cheap cars on here, either this is a scam or these people have more money than sense:rolleyes: , i think not!

So can anybody tell me how these scams work and what i should be looking out for? I'm aware of HPI, accident damaged and clocked miles etc so what other tricks are these people up too?

I've sent a few emails asking if the vehicles are still for sale and as yet there's been no replies.

I give an example Audi TT 30,000 miles, i think the seller wanted 4K or somewhere thereabouts, whats this all about?

I would be grateful for any info.

Thanks

Alser:confused:

annete
01-23-2007, 01:06 PM
Hi,

I was looking too. Last week I found a VW Passat ( year 2005) in mobile.de. It was very cheap and seemed to me too good to be true, about 5 or 6 times cheaper as it should be. So I contacted with the seller, her name in advertisement was Ingrid Kono. Today I got a reply. The e-mail address was very strange, she or he (I don't know anymore, with who I was talking to) didn't tell his or her name in the end of the reply, there was only a phone number.
So she wrote a nice fairy tale about her brother, whose car it was and who is dead now. She lives in Ireland and her brother was a student in South Germany (the car was located also there).
She wanted to be sure, that I have the money and I will go to Germany (I live in Estonia) to meet her and check the car. So she wanted someone from my family to do a transfer this sum of money to me through the Western Union and then I should send her the copy of this receipt to make sure, that I have this money. And then she will send me the copy of her plane tickets to prove, that she will fly to Germany to meet me.
So I did some research. This Western Union is quite good chance defraud money by using fake ID (because she needs only the name of transfer and the receiver of money). I also checked the name Ingrid Kono by using almighty google.com :)
and surprise surprise - a woman named Ingrid Kono lives in South Germany in this town where the car located and she is a teacher or smth and has even her own website. So she's not living in Ireland and maybe this car doesn't even exist.
I haven't wrote her replay yet. But I will do it and I will ask her directly, is it a fraud or not. I just wanna see the reaction :D Obviously she will not write me back.
So be careful and do not trust these online advertisers with very cheap cars!

Annete

Madmad
05-30-2007, 11:33 AM
Keep well clear of these. They tell you the car is in another country and will use a shipping company to send the car to you. (bogus company). They ask for a deposit to be sent by moneygram or Western Union. DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY BY WESTERN UNION. Once the money is picked up there is no getting it back so I believe. They then update the website to say that your car is on route to your house giving you so many days to drive it and if you are not satisfied they will give your money back etc. Then they ask for the rest of the money and thats it. No car and no money. KEEP AWAY FROM THESE.

Unfortunately I know this stuff for the wrong reason as I have just been a victim of this myself. Does anyone know if there is any chance of me getting my money back. I lost £4,500. I am not from the UK (I am from Ireland) and am not familiar with the proceedure of recovering my money in the UK. I sent the money to my brother-in-law and left a paper trail with Banks etc but once the money was picked up from the Western Union Agent, its gone. Please help. Any advice is welcome.