HPI check scam - advice please! [Archive] - Used Car Forums

PDA

View Full Version : HPI check scam - advice please!



uncletomcobbly
05-03-2007, 08:55 AM
I'm selling my car on eBay and in Autotrader, and have had a few scam emails already which I've identified and deleted.

The following email isn't so clear though - any advice on whether this is a scam would be gratefully appreciated...

Received from lara.cooper@gmail.com


Hello,

I am very interested in your [CAR DESCRIPTION] advertised on Auto Trader. I want to buy it. I will be able to come and deal in a few days. Please give me your name, address and phone. I can send you 2000-4000 pounds to reserve it for me. Also please scan and send me a copy of the car registration paper and one copy of the service book to make a check at my local dealer and also to check for insurance rates. Some more detailed photos of the car would be great too.

Thank you,
Laure C.

200718282166851

My initial concerns:
- Signed name is slightly different from email address
- Offer to buy car without seeing it
- My ad contains plenty of pictures of the car - why ask for them again?
- What is the number at the end - is this a template generated email?
- Am I just being paranoid?

So I replied back inviting her to come and see the car in person before making a decision, and received the following reply...


Hello there,

Before I decide I need to make a HPI check on the car. Please send me the VRM (reg number), the VIN (chassis number), the V5 # and issue date and the current mileage.

Thank you,
Lara

Note that the signed name has now changed to match the email address. Sounds a bit fishy to me, although the request for details to do an HPI check is reasonable. There are plenty of scams out there 'selling' cars too after all.

What is the risk in me providing the VRM and VIN details for an HPI check? Could they be used to back up a separate real scam selling a ghost version of my car? What is my best route of action?

Advice please!

jollyroger1965
05-04-2007, 01:14 PM
Get the originating IP address from the e-mail you received and do a 'who is' check. If the IP address isn't from the UK, it is most likely a scam. A better thing to do is have the HPI check done yourself. It will cost about £30. Then tell the buyer that you have already got a HPI clear certificate for the vehicle. Don't part with your car unless you have the money clearly in your bank account and check with your bank to make sure the cheque / draft has fully cleared and the cash is there. Too many stolen cheques/bankers drafts around

neilroadster
05-24-2007, 07:51 PM
I've just received a similar email asking for a scanned copy of the V5 but it was to enable the potential buyer to get an insurance quote, the email read...

"Good Afternoon,
I saw your car ad on AutoTrader and I really want it. Is it still available? I will not waste your time. I have all the money and I've made up my mind. Can you please e-mail me a scanned copy of the car's registration certificate? I need to show it to my insurance company to be able to get a quote. As soon as I have this I can come buy it.
Thanks!"

As I wasn't comfortable sending such a copy I've responded like this....
"Hello Otis, the car is still for sale.
I haven’t got a scanner so I can’t send you a copy of the V5 document but I can supply you with all the information you need to get an insurance quote.
Hope to hear from you again soon.
Regards
Neil."

If the buyer is genuine this shouldn't create a problem, if it's a scam then I doubt I'll hear back?

I'll keep you updated.....

neilroadster
05-29-2007, 09:10 AM
The emailer did reply asking for either a photo or a scan, I responded saying that I wasn't happy doing that but they were quite welcome to view the docs when inspecting the car.

I haven't heard back since, it's been 4 days.

What could be the scam here (if any?) - could someone request a duplicate V5 from the DVLA (also asking for it to be sent somewhere else) and then use it to sell a stolen car?

Or am I just being paranoid?

p.s.....Googled the emailers name (it's quite unique) and found he was selling another VW Golf on www.usedcarmart.co.uk

chuck_berry
05-30-2007, 08:38 AM
As much as possible don't send information online.


_______________
Joe
Spherco Bearings (http://www.who-sells-it.com/cy/rbc-bearings-1283/fiberglide-4075.html) - Download the Fiberglide catalog by RBC Bearings

megacephaly
06-16-2007, 08:23 AM
I'm selling my car on eBay and in Autotrader, and have had a few scam emails already which I've identified and deleted.

The following email isn't so clear though - any advice on whether this is a scam would be gratefully appreciated...

Received from lara.cooper@gmail.com



My initial concerns:
- Signed name is slightly different from email address
- Offer to buy car without seeing it
- My ad contains plenty of pictures of the car - why ask for them again?
- What is the number at the end - is this a template generated email?
- Am I just being paranoid?

So I replied back inviting her to come and see the car in person before making a decision, and received the following reply...



Note that the signed name has now changed to match the email address. Sounds a bit fishy to me, although the request for details to do an HPI check is reasonable. There are plenty of scams out there 'selling' cars too after all.

What is the risk in me providing the VRM and VIN details for an HPI check? Could they be used to back up a separate real scam selling a ghost version of my car? What is my best route of action?

Advice please!

I had exactly the same thing....I wish I'd googled the email address before responding!!
Can anybody tell me if anything BAD happened? I was uncomfortable too so only sent a photo of part of the V5
AutoTrader should be warning us about scams like this!!!

Sieyt
06-16-2007, 10:02 PM
Does sound dodgy, an HPI check can be done from just the reg. number. Best to get the buyer to do one then ask them to confirm to you what HPI says the chassis number etc. is.
I wouldn't send them a copy of the log book.