interent scam? [Archive] - Used Car Forums

PDA

View Full Version : interent scam?



Anonymous
11-18-2003, 01:27 PM
I just recieved a cheque today for £5,500 from a bloke in LOS ( where the f***k is LOS?) that has agreed to buy my car. The cheque is from a u.k. bank (I'm in the u.k.) the car I've sold(??) was worth about 1,100 quid. I've paid it in the bank, but will it clear I ask myself? if it does clear and turns out to be a counterfeit, do I really have to pay the money back? Surely if the bank clear the cheque and then change their mind, it's their fault!

If this bloke is tryng to rip me off, how can I get the better of him and rip him off? lol...

imported_admin
11-18-2003, 02:01 PM
Hi Dougie123,

This is a scam - the cheque will bounce ... start making excuses as they will get heavy on you. Say that you are ill, the car has broken down, the westernunion store has been burnt down. Anything just make them sweat. Do they have your phone number? Did you get the cheque sent to home?

I believe that even if you express clear the cheque they can still cancel it so drag it out as long as you can, and get the bank to confirm in writing that the cheque is valid and the money in your account is yours. I doubt if it will clear.

See www.419eater.com these guys will be proud of you!

Iain
www.cheaper-loan.co.uk

Anonymous
11-18-2003, 02:14 PM
Hi, the bloke I mailed was called Sammy, he's got my mobile number and my home address, nothing else.

I knew there must be a catch somewhere with this bloke sending me money without ever seeing the car, but I thought I'd go along with it and see what happens. There is no way that he'd get the car or get me to send money without the original cheque being cleared first! Now that I've looked through this site though, it's got me wondering about what the bank's policies are on cheques that they have cleared, and then declared counterfeit? It would be great to give this Sammy bloke a taste of his own medicine! lol..

As you say though, the cheque will probably not clear.
We will wait and see!

Dougie

imported_admin
11-18-2003, 02:22 PM
dougie do you have his email address? If yes please display it on here

Anonymous
11-18-2003, 02:34 PM
Hi again,
The bloke in question, as I say is called sammy ( Samuel Jude) e-mail addy: samueljudeajudua@yahoo.com

I have also been contacted by a few more people wanting to purchase my car. chriscar001@yahoo.com ( Chris)

doninternational2000@yahoo.com (Joseph,)
doninternational.
lagos Nigeria.
234-8023107230

smith_agent2004@uymail.com ( Mr. Smith Bush)

imported_admin
11-18-2003, 02:42 PM
Out of interest was it advertised on my site?

Anonymous
11-18-2003, 02:50 PM
No! I advertised the car on the web through some other car related site, can't remember what it was now! The only replies I've got have been these scam type ones!
Shame really, it's a bloody good car lol..
Dougie

imported_admin
11-18-2003, 02:54 PM
Glad it was not mine as I try hard to filter out these pests! Did you take a look @ http://www.419eater.com/html/letters.htm

Anonymous
11-25-2003, 10:01 PM
Hi all, I wrote a message earlier about getting sent a cheque by this bloke called Sammy, well...... guess what? I paid the cheque in and it CLEARED!! £5,500! I haven't done anything yet, I guess the bank will get back to me in a few days and say that the cheque was counterfeit or stolen or something. I'm as sure as hell not going to mail the bloke his remaining balance because it's bound to be a dodgy cheque! Suppose I'll have to wait and see what the bank does, and keep stalling this sammy bloke. I have his address ( if it's real) details of where to send the balance, and his phone number. So if the old bill get involved they can have the details.

Watch this space! lol...
Dougie