View Full Version : [b]IS THIS A SCAM ANYONE PLEASE HELP ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/b]
Anonymous
01-12-2004, 04:06 AM
ok there is this car for sale from netherlands and he said he would ship through a carrier he knows and i could pay half now and half when the car got here. sounds too good to be true. he said i dont even have to put his name on the western union transfer, that i could put my dad, bro, etc as long as it was sent to netherlands. then i could test drive car for 5 days and if i liked i could just call western union and change the name to his. could this be a scam?????????????????????????????
imported_admin
01-12-2004, 07:56 AM
Save your money, the mention of western union means scam.... where are you from? DO NOT PAY MONEY FOR ANYTHING UPFRONT. Have you seen the car?
Anonymous
01-13-2004, 04:40 AM
No, I have just seen pictures. I am just so confused because I know Mercedes over there are much cheaper than here but it does sound too good to be true......Thats why I am so skeptical and I have even asked all the questions to try an get an excuse or stump him but he answers everything the correct way and it makes it seem as though he is really legit..............Here is a copy of the emails.........
I made contact first............
A NEW LEAD FROM USEDCARS.COM!
Claudia is interested in a 2001 Mercedes Benz 320 Clk
You can view this vehicle at: UsedCars.com
Contact this buyer at:
E-Mail: o00oclaudiao00o@aol.com
Day Phone: 8322499403
Eve Phone:
City HOUSTON
State TX
Zip Code 77066
Best Time to Call: any
Time Zone: Pacific
Preferred Contact Method: E-Mail
Purchase Timeframe: ASAP
Comments: I was wondering if the price of the vehicle is $1600????? Please let me know if this is correct or a typo, if it is I am VERY interested.......................
HIS REPLY......
From: mytap2001@yahoo.com
To: o00oclaudiao00o@aol.com
Sent from the Internet (Details)
My car is in perfect shape. NO ACCIDENTS. NO DENTS. NO SCRATCHES.NO CRACKS. NO DEMAGE. Kept inside. I do not know any problems. All service -on time.
The maintenance schedule has been followed to the letter and all service has been performed by my dealer. All maintenance is documented. Yes the car have a clear title.
I will provide you all the papers you need for the car!!! Please let me inform you that I'm a private seller and I'm from Netherlands.The shipping will be made from here .Because it's a long way as a carrier we can use the UPS or American Baggage ( I have a nice discount here ). Yes I will support the shipping.. I will wait your suggestion about the procedures.
MY REPLY.............
I will be very interested in completing this transaction. I would like to know if you can supply me with the VIN number as well with letting me know how much shipping might range. I also would like to be assured this is legitament. I am willing to give you half of what you are asking up front as a serious buyer as long as you can ship it and pay the cost yourself and when I see the car here I will pay the rest of the money plus what you paid for shipping. I just do not want to give all the money and have something go wrong. Please let me know if this is possible because I am really interested and serious. Thanks for your time.
Claudia
HIS REPLY..............
From: mytap2001@yahoo.com
To: O00OclaudiaO00O@aol.com
Sent from the Internet (Details)
Miles: 25915 Doors: 2 doors
Transmission: Automatic Interior: Gray
Engine: 6 - Cyl. Year: 2001
VIN Number: WDBLJ65G11T079132
Title: Clear Exterior: Silver
Condition: Used
Shipping: Shipping will be done from Netherlands. As a
shipping carrier I will use American Baggage
Incorporated services because I have worked with them
in the past and they were very fast and secure and the
car will be insured against damages, shipped in
wooden crate and I will pay 100% for 5-7 days shipping
so you can have it within 5-7 days after you make the
payment.
I can sell it to you for 6,000 usd(this cost include shipping) and I agree you send half of money before and the rest after you receive and inspect the car
MY REPLY................
Thanks for such a quick response. You are selling the car for $1600 Right? SO the rest of the $4400 is shipping costs??? Also, do you mean I can send half of the price of the vehicle which would be $800?? And then the rest of the balance once the car is here in the us. I am sorry for being so skeptical but sometimes one cant be too careful when it comes to so much money and dealing with transactions abroad. I just want to see the vehicle here in Houston before I send the rest of the money. Please let me know what amount needs to be paid up front. Thanks again. I await a response
Claudia
HIS REPLY.....................
4,400 include all the cost for , this all you have to spend include even the fees for transfer, shipping, insurance.
I can start the shipping to you for 2,200 usd
at receiver details you don't have to put tthe money to my name you could put them in your brother's name father and any name you want but in my country amsterdam, netherlands after that you have to show me that you send the money you will show me the MTCN after that I make the shipping to you, you have 5-6 days for testing the car to see that the is like I describe to you after that you have to call at WU and change the name into mine so can I take the money , receiver details , amount .You will have to pay 10% fees for
the transfer.
After the payment will be completed you will have to send me the
transfer details to be able to check your payment
Please reply with your complete deatils for shipping
my details
tim batts
handrik straat no 36
amsterdam, netherlands
PLEASE HELP.................................
Anonymous
01-16-2004, 02:08 AM
I found three other guys exactly like this. Sucks. They really got me going. I still don't know if this is a scam but the similarities are amazing. This guy made the mistake of saying that he is in LA, so I'm begging him to see the car. Hoping he'll let me.
From: ". ." <todaystores@hotmail.com> Add to Address Book
To: ----@yahoo.com
Subject: RE: Your 2003 BMW M3 on Yahoo! Autos
Date: Thu, 15 Jan 2004 23:21:50 +0000
Hi,
My name is Alex,
About the car, I have to tell you that it's absolutely perfect ,never
had
any accident and never been repaired. It has a clean title . Is a
wonderful
car. It is a pleasure to drive it and is under warranty. Is like new
:)No
paintwork!No scratches!No smoking car!The car is priced to be sold very
fast!
I want to tell you that the car is in USA but I'm in Uk for a few
months.I
want to sell it fast because in september I will move in Uk for 4
years.I
live in USA,California.
In order to close the deal and I am sure you want this car you need to
make
a deposit of 2900 usd. You must send the money on my name in Los
Angeles..You have to send the money on my name from a Western Union
office.(www.westernunion.com).
I need this deposit because I was already bought a ticket after a "
buyer "
asked me to come in USA .
If you agree I will email you my address and full name to make the
transfer.
As soon as you will send me a copy of the Western Union receipt I will
check online the transfer and if is ok and see that the money has been
sent
on my name in Ca,Los Angeles, I will come back in US next day so we can
meet and make the final arrangements and register the car.
If this is acceptable to you please email me so we can start the deal.
>From: ----@yahoo.com
>To: todaystores@hotmail.com
>Subject: Your 2003 BMW M3 on Yahoo! Autos
>Date: 15 Jan 2004 23:03:00 -0000
>
>very interested.
>please email or call.
>
>
>
>This message is in response to your 2003 BMW M3 ad (New York, New York
-
>$32,000.00):
>
>Contact: Rob
>Phone: (562)
>Best time to call: From 3pm until 9pm
>
>--
>Although there is not a single surefire way to identify fraudulent
>buyers, there are certain countries that have a higher incidence of
>fraud and often have untraceable addresses. These include: Nigeria,
>Romania, Macedonia, Belarus, Pakistan, Russia, Lithuania, Egypt,
>Colombia, Malaysia, and Indonesia. You may want to decline to sell to
>buyers in these countries, even if the buyer offers to use a
>U.S. cashier's check. If you are at all suspicious, it's a good idea
>to do some research. Learn More:
>http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/class/class-45.html
>
>To view the full ad, please go to:
>
>http://classifieds.autos.yahoo.com/class/detail.html?cid=automobiles-1073421722-2918713
>
>
>
>Thanks for using Yahoo!
>
>_________________________________________________ ________
>DO YOU YAHOO!?
>Sell your car on Yahoo! Autos - http://autos.yahoo.com/
__________________________________________________ _______________
Scope out the new MSN Plus Internet Software — optimizes dial-up to the
max!
http://join.msn.com/?pgmarket=en-us&page=byoa/plus&ST=1
imported_admin
01-16-2004, 04:03 PM
I found three other guys exactly like this. Sucks. They really got me going. I still don't know if this is a scam but the similarities are amazing. This guy made the mistake of saying that he is in LA, so I'm begging him to see the car. Hoping he'll let me.
This is a scam DO NOT PERSUE IT string him along but do not attempt to cash that check if you are in America. They jail you for trying to pass counterfeit checks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.