Where is the scam????? [Archive] - Used Car Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Where is the scam?????



Burnet01
06-16-2005, 03:18 PM
Hi,
I am trying to buy a second hand car online and I found adv from private seller that sell a Audi TT very cheap, in fact half of the price of the market.
The first thing I thought was a print mistake so I ask him to confirm the price and year of the car, and the guy replyed me that the price was right. So I thought was a scam.
Then he explained me how to make the deal; he will ship the car to me and I will pay through a 3 part. I told him that I don’t want any 3 part that I will go and collect the car my self. Then he said "no problem", but I should send money to “me” (no to him) by Western Union and send him a copy of the receipt, for he has a garranty that I will go and make the deal. But I told him that I will not send the recipt as there is a number on it “secret” necessary to collect the money. And the guy said that "fine", just "send a copy of the receipt with out the number". I asked him to send me the documentation of the car…I was thinking that he will not reply any more……..but next day he sent me his ID personal(with his photo, name, address) and the documentation of the car!
So I was wondering where is the scam here, because still I can not believe that anyone could sell a so nice car so cheap but this guy sent me his ID and the document of the car.
Does any one know where is the scam?
Also where could I check the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) to see if the car has veen stolen, or damage...? (I know there are few web that send a report of a car but cost about £29, Is there any place that I could check thsi information with out pay?

There are a lot of people there "fishing" trying to con us and the only defence we got is share information.

vehicletrader
07-13-2005, 01:17 PM
Sounds very suspicious to me, although i've not seen one like this before. He is putting a hell of a lot of effort into getting you to trust him, when surely if the car is half the market value he would have hundred of potential buyers..

I'd be very sceptical...

admin
07-13-2005, 02:45 PM
This is a scam!
They are priced below the market to get you hooked
They will be able to show you a scan of vehicle documents for any VIN/ Make you want if they have the editing skills for something like photoshop
They tend to take valid vehicle details from vehicles being advertised already online - check ebay.com for vehicles, many show the VIN number already so you can check the history. This makes it easy for them to provide convincing information. Plus if the vehicle is being sold elsewhere by the real owner, they can ask them any questions you ask and come back with genuine info. Albeit for a car that they do not have to sell.
Western union - scammers like this company as once sent its gone! NEVER NEVER SEND MONEY FOR AN ONLINE PURCHASE VIA WESTERN UNION. Western Union is ok if your granny is stranded in the darkest Peru - but if you pay for something that you have not seen you will be sorry.
Never believe ID documents someone sends you - too easy to create
If it seems too good to be true ... guess what? It most probably will be
Typically these fake car or other item advertisers are from Romania
Learn to read the ip address from email headers see http://www.stopspam.org/email/headers.html - you can take the ip address (unique address for the sender) and look up the country of the sender here http://www.dnsstuff.com/ in the city from ip address
If you saw the advert online - check back a few days after to see if the advert is still there! If not chances are it may have been removed and their account deleted. If you can communicate via the site try to communicate with the seller there, if they do not reply their account may have been banned.

Sapolar
10-22-2005, 08:07 PM
Too bad I read about this. I saw a beatiful Golf GTI 2002 with 37K km and think it is really undervaluated (6000€)
But most of the charaseristics with the seller confirms he admin's comments here (if my english grammar suck, it is not because I am a sammer, but because it is not my native tongue).
One of the things is that he told me he uses http://www.cargo-alegorya.com/ for shipping the car and the web looks very professional, as a real company you might say. But the seller did not mention anything about a payment in advance (I am suppossed to test it for 5 days and then decide ifI want it or not, and give the money to the company). I just realized that when the cargo compa ny send me an email asking for that before shipping (I live in madrid, the buyer in London and explains the low price due to the seat drivers in the wrong side for London and hard to sell becuase of that).
Anyway, I certainly do not trust this advanced payment (in the mail, they do mention Western Union as a way of payment) and wondered if any of you ever heard about this company and what you recommend.




This is a scam!
They are priced below the market to get you hooked
They will be able to show you a scan of vehicle documents for any VIN/ Make you want if they have the editing skills for something like photoshop
They tend to take valid vehicle details from vehicles being advertised already online - check ebay.com for vehicles, many show the VIN number already so you can check the history. This makes it easy for them to provide convincing information. Plus if the vehicle is being sold elsewhere by the real owner, they can ask them any questions you ask and come back with genuine info. Albeit for a car that they do not have to sell.
Western union - scammers like this company as once sent its gone! NEVER NEVER SEND MONEY FOR AN ONLINE PURCHASE VIA WESTERN UNION. Western Union is ok if your granny is stranded in the darkest Peru - but if you pay for something that you have not seen you will be sorry.
Never believe ID documents someone sends you - too easy to create
If it seems too good to be true ... guess what? It most probably will be
Typically these fake car or other item advertisers are from Romania
Learn to read the ip address from email headers see http://www.stopspam.org/email/headers.html - you can take the ip address (unique address for the sender) and look up the country of the sender here http://www.dnsstuff.com/ in the city from ip address
If you saw the advert online - check back a few days after to see if the advert is still there! If not chances are it may have been removed and their account deleted. If you can communicate via the site try to communicate with the seller there, if they do not reply their account may have been banned.

oasisinspain
11-04-2005, 03:48 PM
I was also interested in a car, offered in Germany in mobile.de. Of corse also for a very good price.
Now the seller informed me, that he went to Britain and that I shall use the services of cargo alegorya.
I was wondered, that he told me, that the company would change the documents in my name. So I asked cargo alegorya, how this could be possible without any documents from me.
Result: cargo alegorya wrote me, that the seller would be a great customer and that he shipped also other cars before. And that all the clients have been very happy.
I am now shure, that the seller and cargo alegorya are working together or the person is the same, because I did not said one word about the seller. So they could not have any information.
I prefer to say good bye to a car, which maybe not even exist.