Notices
Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: is this a scam?

  1. #1 Default is this a scam? 
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    I recieved this email about enquiring about an advert on a website, does this seem like a scam? and what do i need to find out if it is not a scam?

    thanks



    "Hi,

    The 2005 Seat Ibiza 1.4 Sport 16V 5dr Hatchback is still for sale. A great car, never implied in any accident, in excellent condition with full service history. My job put me on the way to England and I purchased this car there. Now I have to sell it as I've got back home in Switzerland. The car is here as well. The final price is £2.500 + shipping to your door. For an accurate shipping cost please include your shipping address in your next email.

    As you probably noticed, the price is rather low. But since it's a right hand drive car, not even a dealer will offer me a better price here. The fact that it's still UK registered did not help either.

    I am the registered keeper and there is no outstanding finance on the vehicle. The car is in excellent condition, the bodywork is immaculate, no scratches, dents or hidden defects as well as the interior in excellent non-smoking condition.

    Due to amount involved and due the fact I am not located in United Kingdom, I only accept third party transaction mediator. All documents, including V5 log book on your name will be provided along with the car.

    Please email me soon if you want to move forward and let me know if you need anything else.

    All the best!"
    Reply With Quote  

  2. #2 Default  
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    I haven't encountered something like this before, but it sounds like a scam to me. Do you remember inquiring about the car anywhere like in a car forum?



    _____________________
    Blog by autopartswarehouse.
    Reply With Quote  

  3. #3 Default  
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    Ford escort is very popular in New York.
    Reply With Quote  

  4. #4 Default  
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    48
    rubbish its a scam
    Reply With Quote  

  5. #5 Smile  
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2
    It's a scam. I get lots of those saying theyre selling this and that. Better to be sure
    Reply With Quote  

  6. #6 Default It seems scam to me 
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    22
    Its definitely scam. I would not even risk it.

    I had seen a similar car earlier at http://www.mecarz.com so you might want to check it out.
    Reply With Quote  

  7. #7 Default  
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2
    As you are saying it must be scam. But without any clearance, I can't say anything about it. It may be scam or may not.
    Reply With Quote  

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts